Over 2-dozen LA parishes designated drought disaster areas

MGN Online
Thursday, December 12, 2013 - 12:27pm

On Wednesday, Dec. 11, the Louisiana Department of Agriculture and Forestry Commissioner Mike Strain, D.V.M., received notice from the United States Department of Agriculture (USDA) that 21 Louisiana parishes and seven contiguous parishes are now designated natural disaster areas as a result of the drought.

Bienville, Bossier, Caddo, Claiborne, De Soto, East Carroll, Grant, Jackson, Lincoln, Madison, Morehouse, Natchitoches, Ouachita, Red River, Richland, Sabine, Union, Vernon, Webster, West Carroll and Winn parishes are declared primary natural disaster areas.

The seven parishes named as contiguous disaster areas are: Allen, Beauregard, Caldwell, Franklin, LaSalle, Rapides and Tensas.

Commissioner Mike Strain said, “As we all know, mother nature is extremely unpredictable. Those farmers who are falling on hard times as a result of the drought can now get some assistance to possibly alleviate some of the hardship.”

A federal disaster designation makes farm operators in primary and contiguous areas eligible to be considered for certain assistance from the Farm Service Agency (FSA), provided eligibility requirements are met. This assistance includes low interest FSA emergency loans.

Farmers and ranchers may get more information from their local FSA offices. 


Comments News Comments

Post new Comment