Parts of southern Louisiana declared disaster areas after recent flooding

Friday, February 22, 2013 - 6:54pm

President Obama has declared part of the state a major disaster area after severe storms last month. The declaration includes Livingston Parish, as well as 10 other parishes.

It means federal money is available to help clean up after storms and flooding between the dates of January 8-17.

Cities in that area, such as Denham Springs and Livingston, were battered with heavy rain for days.

Other parishes in the disaster area include Acadia, Concordia, Evangeline, Franklin, Jefferson Davis, Livingston, Madison, St. Landry, St. Martin and Vermilion. The Governor had requested Public Assistance aid for Rapides parish as well, but this was not granted by the federal government.

GOHSEP said the flooding and storms left behind almost $7 million in damage statewide.


Comments News Comments

Post new Comment