Rep. Pierre elected Chairman of the Acadiana Legislative Delegation

Wednesday, April 10, 2013 - 4:06pm

State Representative Vincent Pierre, D-Lafayette, has been elected, without opposition, to serve as Chairman of the Acadiana Legislative Delegation. Representative Pierre will begin his term immediately. The outgoing chair, Senator Jonathan Perry, did not seek reelection.

Rep. Pierre serves House District 44 which encompasses Lafayette Parish. Pierre serves on Commerce, Insurance, and Labor and Industrial Relations Committees.

"Our constituents in the Acadiana area can have faith that their voice, concerns, and interest will be our priority as we move through this session. I am humbled to accept this leadership role as Chairman of the Acadiana Delegation and look forward to working with fellow legislators in our twenty-two parish region," said Pierre.

As chairman, Rep. Pierre appointed six delegation members to serve as officers on the Executive Committee, they are: Representative Ledricka Thierry, Representative Terry Landry, Representative Michael Danahay, Senator Fred Mills, Representative Johnny Berthelot, and Representative Joel Robideaux.

Other officers elected to serve the Acadiana Legislative Delegation are, Vice Chairman District 26 State Senator Jonathan "J. P." Perry, R-Kaplan, and Secretary/Treasurer District 41 Representative Mickey Guillory, D-Eunice. The Delegation was formed in 1979; it is composed of 35 Representatives and 11 Senators.


Comments News Comments

Post new Comment