LSU's football season includes Wisconsin, Thanksgiving

Photo provided by MGN Online
Wednesday, August 21, 2013 - 3:00pm

A neutral site game against Wisconsin, home games against Alabama and Ole Miss and a Thanksgiving contest at Texas A&M highlight the 2014 LSU football schedule.

The Southeastern Conference announced the league schedule for all 14 teams on Wednesday. LSU will play a total of seven homes games, which includes playing host to Kentucky from the SEC Eastern Division on October 18. LSU travels to face Florida in Gainesville on October 11 for its other cross-division league game.

LSU opens the league schedule at home against Mississippi State on September 20. Other home league games for the Tigers include Ole Miss on October 25 and Alabama on November8.

The Tigers will face Auburn (October 4), Arkansas (November 15) and Texas A&M (November 27) on the road. This will be the first time since Arkansas joined the SEC in 1992 that the Tigers and Razorbacks aren’t scheduled to square off in the season-finale.

The Aggies replace Arkansas as the Tigers’ season-finale in 2014 and the contest will be played on Thanksgiving Day in College Station.

The Texas A&M contest will be the first game for LSU on Thanksgiving Day since 1973 when the Tigers hosted Alabama in Tiger Stadium, losing 21-7 to the second-ranked Crimson Tide.

In non-conference action, LSU will open the season against Wisconsin at the AdvoCare Texas Kickoff at Reliant Stadium in Houston on August 30. The Wisconsin game will be the first for the Tigers in Houston since beating Rice, 24-10, in 1983.

LSU opens its home slate the following week, hosting two-time Football Championship Subdivision national runner-up Sam Houston State in what will be the first contest in the newly-expanded Tiger Stadium. LSU hosts Louisiana-Monroe on September 13 and New Mexico State on September 27 for its other two non-conference games.

2014 LSU Football Schedule
August 30 vs. Wisconsin, Houston, Texas
September 6 Sam Houston State, Baton Rouge
September 13 Louisiana-Monroe, Baton Rouge
September 20 Mississippi State, Baton Rouge
September 27 New Mexico State, Baton Rouge
October 4 at Auburn, Auburn, Ala.
October 11 at Florida, Gainesville, Fla.
October 18 Kentucky, Baton Rouge
October 25 Ole Miss, Baton Rouge
November 1 Open
November 8 Alabama, Baton Rouge
November 15 at Arkansas, Little Rock or Fayetteville, Ark.
November 22 Open
November 27 at Texas A&M, College Station, Texas
December 6 SEC Championship, Atlanta, Ga.    

College Football

Comments News Comments

Post new Comment