Data Error LouisianaLocal Weather Alerts
There was an error retrieving the National Weather Service alert data.
AcadiaCalcasieuCameronIberiaJefferson DavisVermilion

Federal disaster declaration expanded to seven more parishes

The Trump administration has approved his request to expand the federal emergency declaration to include seven additional parishes impacted by Tropical Storm Harvey: Acadia, Allen, Iberia, Natchitoches, Rapides, Sabine and Vernon.

“The response to our needs by President Donald Trump and all of our federal partners has been tremendous, and we can’t thank them enough,” said Gov. John Bel Edwards. “As teams assess the aftermath of this storm, the damage it has caused to several parishes in Southwest and Central Louisiana is becoming increasingly apparent. This declaration will ensure that the emergency work needed to help prevent any more damage from occurring or reduce what has already happened is essential.”

This declaration is for emergency protective measures conducted before, during and after an incident. They are to eliminate or lessen immediate threats to lives, public health or safety; or to eliminate or lessen threats of significant additional damage to improved public or private property in a cost-effective manner.

A total of 12 parishes have now received federal emergency declarations.  The initial declaration included Beauregard, Calcasieu, Cameron, Jefferson Davis and Vermilion parishes.