CoronavirusLouisianaNews15 TodaySports

SiriusXM Marks Original 2020 MLB Opening Day With Slate of Classic Games

NEW YORK – March 25, 2020 – SiriusXM will offer listeners a fun slate of baseball programming on the MLB Network Radio channel to enjoy tomorrow, March 26, Major League Baseball’s originally scheduled Opening Day.

Listeners can tune in to catch a series of classic Opening Day games that feature standout performances and late-game heroics, plus Opening Day-themed shows with new interviews and commentary from SiriusXM’s panel of baseball hosts and analysts.

At 7:00 am ET/4:00 am PT on The Leadoff Spot, hosts Steve Phillips and CJ Nitkowski will interview players and managers about their favorite Opening Day memories.  Listeners are scheduled to hear from former Rays first baseman Carlos Pena about his game-winning hit on Opening Day in 2012, former Tigers DH Dmitri Young, who clubbed three homers on Opening Day in 2005, as well as first-year Pirates manager Derek Shelton, who is looking forward to his first Opening Day as a major league skipper.

At 11:00 am ET/8:00 am PT, SiriusXM hosts Mike Ferrin, Mike Stanton, Steve Sax, Brad Lidge, Eduardo Perez, Casey Stern and Jim Duquette will share their Opening Day memories.

Then, starting at 1:00 pm ET, SiriusXM will air a slate of five classic Opening Day games (schedule below), which were chosen by fans in a poll conducted on the MLB Network Radio Twitter feed (@MLBNetworkRadio).

1:00 pm ET/10:00 am PT: Dodgers vs. Giants (March 31, 2011)

Aces Tim Lincecum and Clayton Kershaw establish their Cy Young Award candidacies with a pair of standout Opening Day performances.

6:00 pm ET/3:00 pm PT: Mariners vs. Twins (April 6, 2009)

Ken Griffey Jr. hits his 8th career Opening Day home run.

9:00 pm ET/6:00 pm PT: Diamondbacks vs. Giants (April 2, 2017)

A game that is ultimately decided by one run features two of the game’s best pitchers – Zack Greinke and Madison Bumgarner.

Midnight ET/9:00 pm PT: Rays vs. Yankees (April 6, 2012)

A 7-6 victory is decided by a clutch hit in the ninth.

3:00 am ET/midnight PT: Nationals vs. Braves (March 30, 2008)

Nationals 3B Ryan Zimmerman delivers a walk-off home run to give Washington a 3-2 victory in the first game played in Nationals Park.

MLB Network Radio continues to broadcast daily with new content and commentary from SiriusXM’s hosts and analysts.  The channel is available to subscribers nationwide with the SiriusXM All Access package on SiriusXM radios (XM channel 89 and Sirius channel 209), on the SiriusXM app, and at home on a variety of connected devices.  Go to www.SiriusXM.com/AtHome to learn more.

To get a free trial to SiriusXM’s All Access package go to www.SIRIUSXM.COM/MLB2020.

On Opening Day, Major League Baseball is encouraging fans to connect with each other using the hashtag #OpeningDayAtHome.  www.MLB.com